Day 5 – December 14, 2010

The day I’d been waiting for finally arrived! I was so ready to decorate some cookies!!! I’m sure you’re probably going to skim this entry as you’ll probably find it boring, but you can look at the pretty pictures.

I got there a little early because I was afraid that there would be traffic. I went inside and I felt like a kid in a candy store! Soooo many things.. it was wonderful! I looked around for a bit then I went to to the classroom. There were 4 tables of 4 set up; the girl I sat in front of  seemed really nice 🙂 The instructor went over making the cookies, making the royal icing, and then she made a huge batch. Our table’s task was to make royal icing red and put it into piping bags.

Red royal icing in piping bags

After a demonstration, we got our cookies and got to start decorating the first one, then the second one.

I know what you're thinking.. stop it!

Aren't the hearts cute?

We got to make some plain snowflakes…

I liked the heart so much I tried to put it in the snowflake

And then there was the ugly frosting. I wasn’t a fan of the technique, but we had to practice it anyway.. I didn’t like it! I have different ideas of what to do for mittens! (It’s a secret!)

So many things wrong w/this cookie!!

The final cookie we decorated with royal icing was a big one!

20101214 -  tree presents

Don't look at the black cookie, it's nekkid!!

I didn’t like this one either because I wouldn’t decorate it this way, but it’s good to know how to do different things.

Finally, we made a black snowflake.. it looks better, but having tasted the cookie at home, it tastes a little burned. It’s supposed to taste somewhat like an oreo, but I didn’t think so. I’ll have to get others to test it out 😀
We got to use disco dust and I loved it! It made cookies look so purdy 🙂 I added some of the dust to the other snowflake as well.

Black snowflake with fondant

And then we got to take the cookies home in a nice box!

Oopsie! I forgot the ugly mitten. I swear it wasn't on purpose!

Here they are at home… the green one since got a little damaged with a piping bag so I didn’t want to put it on there

20101214-cookies

Almost all except for the green ornament

Yes… I will be practicing my piping skills! Not bad for a first timer..

Leave a Reply

